Tórshavn Education Center,Tórshavn
Bjarke Ingels  BIG Bjarke Ingels Group 

Tórshavn Education Center,Tórshavn

Bjarke Ingels  BIG Bjarke Ingels Group 

The new Education Center is located on a hillside, 100 meters above sea level, outside Torshavn, the islands’ capital. It is the largest education building in the history of the Faroe Islands, and is meant to serve as base for the coordination and development of all educational programmes in the region. With 19,200 square meters, the new center includes in one building a gymnasium, Torshavn’s Technical College and the Business College of the archipelago, accommodating 1.200 students and 300 teachers.

The project is designed as a vortex, radiating out towards the environment while at the same time flowing onto the school’s interior landscape. Each program is laid out on one level, curling up from the inside out. This shape permits projecting an expansion surface in case the programs are extended in the future, while maintaining their independence. The center of the volume is an open circular space that serves as a casual meeting point creating a vertical relationship between the different schools. A stepped interior space reflects the mountainous landscape of the islands with its alternating plateaus, stairwells and terraces where different social and academic activities take place. 

Cliente Client

Mentamalaradid (Ministry of Culture) / Landsverk

Arquitectos Architects

BIG-Bjarke Ingels Group

Socios responsables Partners in charge: Bjarke Ingels, Finn Nørkjær

Jefe de proyecto Project leader: Finn Nørkjær

Mánager de proyecto Project manager: Finn Nørkjær

Arquitecto responsable Project architect: Johan Cool, Ole Elkjaer Larsen

Equipo de proyecto Project team: Alessio Valmori, Alexandre Carpentier, Armen Menendian, Baptiste Blot, Camille Crepin, Christian Alvarez, Claudio Moretti, Daniel Pihl, David Zahle, Edouard Boisse, Elisha Nathoo, Enea Michelesio, Eskild Nordbud, Ewelina Moszczynska, Finn Nørkjær, Frederik Lyng, Gaetan Brunet, Goda Luksaite, Jakob Lange, Jakob Teglgård Hansen, Jan Besikov, Jan Kudlicka, Johan Cool, Kari-Ann Petersen, Krista Meskanen, Laura Youf, Long Zuo, Martin Cajade, Mikkel Marcker Stubgaard, Niklas Rausch, Oana Simionescu, Ole Elkjær-Larsen, Richard Howis, Takumi Iwasawa, Tiago Sá, Tobias Hjortdal, Xiao Xuan Lu

Colaboradores Collaborators

Fuglark, Lemming & Eriksson, Samal Johannesen, Martin E. Leo SP/F, KJ Elrad Radgevandi Verkfroedingar