Medalla Tessenow 2013


Alberto Campo Baeza

Born in Valladolid, Alberto Campo Baeza picked up the Tessenow Gold Medal in Hamburg. Created in 1963 as a tribute to the German architect Heinrich Tessenow (1867-1950), the medal commends the oeuvre of architects with a sober and essential body of work. Campo Baeza studied at the Madrid School of Architecture (ETSAM) – where he is Chair Professor –, was a student of Francisco Javier Sáenz de Oíza and Javier Carvajal, and also worked at the studio of Julio Cano Lasso. His unique career is marked by the search for formal essentialism through an unmistakable personal language, close to geometry, light and the color white. His oeuvre combines domestic experiments – with works like the De Blas house in Sevilla la Nueva or the Turégano house in Pozuelo, landmarks of recent Spanish architecture – with noteworthy public buildings like the triangular BIT Center in Inca (Mallorca), the Savings Bank in Granada, and the Advisory Board Building in Zamora. Roger Diener, Eduardo Souto de Moura, David Chipperfield, Peter Zumthor, Peter Märkli or Juan Navarro Baldeweg are prior recipients of this medal.

Included Tags: