Located in the private estate of the Nezu family, the museum of the same name opened its doors in 1941 to preserve the private collection of Kaichiro Nezu, industrialist and president of Tobu Railway. Currently it custodies over 7,000 objects of pre-modern Asian and Japanese art, including calligraphy, painting, sculpture and ceramics. The project is an attempt to give the 20.000 square meter site an urban character, and to do so it raises a built facade that protects from the hustle of bustle of Omotesando. Resting on a volume that had been added in a previous extension carried out in 1990, the new piece wraps up the corner and replaces the decaying warehouse buildings and the exhibition hall with a volume that includes the reception, a shop and two exhibition rooms. The large wings of the black tile roof end in steel profiles treated with phosphoric acid to minimize their depth. The form evokes the image of the original structures, visually extending the slopes of the terrain and casting shade on the facade clad with coral gray from Qingdao, a stone resembling bamboo. The complex is accessed through a bamboo filter that turns the passage from the outdoors to the indoors into a process of subtle immersion in a peaceful oasis.
Kengo Kuma & Associates
Shimizu Corporation (estructura e instalaciones structural engineering and facilities engineering); Panasonic Electric Works Co., Ltd. (iluminación lighting); Seifuen (paisajista landscape gardening)