News  Awards 

Alvar Aalto Medal for Spain

Nieto Sobejano, Awarded


The Madrid architects Fuensanta Nieto and Enrique Sobejano now have the Alvar Aalto Medal, the prestigious award that the Finnish Museum of Architecture and the Finnish Association of Architects (SAFA) have given every three years since 1967 in acknowledgment of entire careers, in ceremonies held in Jyväskylä, Aalto’s home city. The judges deemed that the partners are “key names in the new wave of Spanish architecture” and that their works “speak a silent language” based on in-depth understanding of local cuture and the context,” virtues shared with previous winners (Utzon, Siza, Ando...) and Aalto himself. This is the first time that the medal goes to a Spanish team and to a woman.

Included Tags: