VIII Biennial of Spanish Architecture 2005


Scottish Parliament, Baracaldo Stadium

For the first time presided by a woman, the Alicante architect Dolores Alonso, the jury of the 7th Biennial of Spanish Architecture selected a posthumous work built outside our frontiers. Designed by the ill-fated Enric Miralles and completed by his studio, EMBT, the Scottish Parliament in Edinburgh won the Manuel de la Dehesa Award, while the prize created for young architects, named Miralles, precisely, went to the football stadium of Baracaldo, a work of the Bilbao-born Madrid-based architect Eduardo Arroyo. Special mention went to the esplanade and photovoltaic pergola of the Barcelona Forum, designed by José Antonio Martínez Lapeña and Elías Torres. Along with these three works, 31 other projects, almost all of them public works, made it to the finals and together proved the “variety and diversity of the lines of inquiry of Spanish architecture.” Finally, the Biennial held its first Exhibition of Final Projects of Spain’s Architecture Schools, an initiative meant to complete the panorama of national production with a perspective of the future.

Included Tags: