David Chipperfield, Pritzker Prize 2023


David Chipperfield, Pritzker Prize 2023


The Hyatt Foundation has declared the British architect David Chipperfield the winner of the Pritzker Prize, an accolade given annually since 1979 and coming with a sum of US$100,000. Jury Chair Alejandro Aravena has lauded how his work has stood the test of time: “He responds to each project with specific tools that he has selected with preciseness and great care. Sometimes it requires a gesture that is strong and monumental, while other times it requires him to almost disappear.”

Having studied at the Kingston School of Art and the Architectural Association, in 1985 Sir David Alan Chipperfield CH set up his own practice, which now works from offices in London, Berlin, Milan, Shanghai, and Santiago de Compostela. The firm has carried out public works as remarkable as the ‘Veles e Vents’ pavilion, built in collaboration with b720 for the America’s Cup in Valencia, or the Jumex Museum in Mexico City, as well as sensitive interventions on heritage, as in the Neues Museum and the Neue Nationalgalerie in Berlin, the Royal Academy of Arts in London, or the Procuratie Vecchie in Venice. Among his latest projects are the refurbishment of the historic Banco de Santander headquarters on Paseo de Pereda in the Cantabrian city, and the renovation of the National Archaeological Museum in Athens.

A member of the Royal Institute of British Architects and an honorary member of the American Institute of Architects, he has garnered numerous distinctions, among them the RIBA Gold Medal (2011) and the Praemium Imperiale of the Japan Art Association (2013). In 2021, for his services to architecture, he was inducted into the Order of the Companions of Honour, an award given to citizens of the Commonwealth realms.

In combination with professional practice, David Chipperfield has taught and lectured in architecture schools around the world. In 2017, in Spain, he created Fundación RIA, a private non-profit entity that seeks to contribute to the economic, environmental, and cultural development of the region of Galicia.

The 2023 Pritzker awarding ceremony will take place in Athens in May.

David Chipperfield Architects. Limited Digital Edition

River and Rowing Museum, Henley-on-Thames (United Kingdom)

America’s Cup Building ‘Veles e Vents’, Valencia

Neues Museum, Berlin

Turner Contemporary Gallery, Margate (United Kingdom)

The Hepworth Gallery, Wakefield (United Kingdom)

Jumex Museum, Mexico City

Inagawa Cemetery Chapel and Visitor Center, Inagawa (Japan)

Amorepacific Headquarters, Seoul

Royal Academy of Arts, London

James-Simon-Galerie, Berlin

Neue Nationalgalerie Refurbishment, Berlin 

Morland Mixité Capitale, Paris

Procuratie Vecchie, Venice

Paseo de Pereda, Santander

Renovation and expansion of National Archaeological Museum of Athens

Included Tags: