News  Awards 

MCHAP for Siza and Herzog & de Meuron

Masters in America


A ceremony was held in Mies van der Rohe’s mythical building for the Illinois Institute of Technology in Chicago to announce the winners of the inaugural Mies Crown Hall Americas Prize (MCHAP), an important award that the IIT will from now on be giving to acknowledge outstanding buildings raised on the American continents, in this case since the year 2000. Presided by Kenneth Frampton and including the architects Wiel Arets, Jorge Francisco Liernur, Dominique Perrault, and Sarah Whiting, the jury gave the prize in two categories, dividing the thirteen years of the young millennium into two equal parts. For the period 2000-2008, the winner is the Iberê Camargo Foundation in Porto Alegre, Álvaro Siza’s only work in Brazil, and for 2009-2013 the honor went to Herzog & de Meuron’s mixed-use complex on 1111 Lincoln Road in Miami, Florida. The Portuguese master and the Swiss partners carried the day over a parade of works designed by internationally acclaimed architects like Rem Koolhaas of Rotterdam and Steven Holl of New York, and Latin American professionals including Cristián Undurraga, Smiljan Radic, and Rafael Iglesia.

Included Tags: